Whatcom Conservation District Election

An election for one seat on the Whatcom Conservation District board will be held on Tuesday, March 23, 2021.

Registered voters who have participated in previous Whatcom Conservation District elections do not automatically receive a ballot. Ballots must be requested for the March 23 election and are available to all registered voters residing within Whatcom County.

Requesting Ballot Deadline
The deadline for requesting a ballot is Monday, February 8, 2021, by 4 p.m. A request to have a ballot sent to you can be done online (https://survey.whatcomcd.org/limesurvey/index.php/62682), or at the district office. Ballots are mailed in bulk in early March, so don’t expect to receive the ballot in your mailbox until after that date. If you have not received your ballot by March 10, contact the office at 360-526-2381, ext. 101. Requests for replacements cannot be honored after March 16. Ballots can be put in the box in front of the district’s office or postmarked before Tuesday, March 23, 2021, by 6:00 p.m., to be counted.

You cannot put your ballot in county election drop boxes.

This year, voting will only be mail-in, — voters do not have the option of voting at 6975 Hannegan Road, Lynden.

Appointed Position Available
The Whatcom Conservation District is seeking candidates for a board position appointed by the Washington State Conservation Commission. All conservation district supervisors serve without compensation. Applicants for appointed position must be Washington state registered voters, but do not have to live within the district to apply. Applicants may be required to own land or operate a farm.

For more information, or to obtain an application form, please contact Whatcom Conservation District at 360-526-2381 or visit the state website at www.scc.wa.gov. Applications and supporting materials must be received no later than March 31, 2020.

The Whatcom Conservation District was formed in 1946. The district serves all of Whatcom County and is committed to fostering a healthy, sustainable relationship between people and the environment. It is governed by a board of five supervisors, who are all local residents.

                                             Current Board Members

Heather Christianson — Chair (Elected in 2017, not opposed in 2020)
 Suzzi Snydar — Vice Chair (Appointed)
 Larry Davis — Secretary-Treasurer (Appointed)
 Valeri Wade — Supervisor (Elected in 2019)
 Alan Chapman — Supervisor (Elected in 2018)

Bookmark the permalink.